Musings on a Proverb

If you want to quickly go alone. If you want to go far go together.  –  African Proverb 

I’ve pondered this proverb since I saw it at the end of the film ‘The Good Lie’ which I saw a couple of days ago.

Sometimes I feel very alone and the idea that I need other people to get anywhere in life feels like a cruel statement. Why should I need other people in order to go far? Surely my achievements lie in my own actions? The fact that I’m a loner shouldn’t mean that I am barred from going places in life.

But then I did a three way skype call with my parents, brother, and grandparents tonight and I felt quite the opposite of alone; I felt loved and supported. I understood what the proverb meant.

Yes, I can achieve on my own, and quite right too. But the other people and the support they provide isn’t about not being able to do it on your own, its about how with them you can do more than you believed you could do. I think it means that when you have people believing in you and working with you, you feel more capable, you feel like you can achieve things you would have seen as too daunting when faced alone.

So no, its not negative and its not mean to loners. And I think it doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to have a literal group of people supporting you either. I think that same result can come from doing something that you know is right and that other people know is right and would support.

So I do believe that If you want to quickly go alone. If you want to go far go together.

Leave a Reply

