The Mistake

I knocked on the door; waiting, hoping for someone to answer. The address was right and so was the time, but this rickety old building didn’t fit. I shivered, but not from the cold. Something about that place gave me the chills. I should have suspected it then. I should have turned around and gone home. But I didn’t.

10 o clock they had said, so there I was. I huffed out a breath after knocking once again and began to turn around to go home – to safety. Then there was the creak. The sudden noise in the still, silent darkness made me jump. I gave a nervous laugh towards the empty street and turned cautiously once again, seeing the open doorway to what I would later refer to as hell.

I was young back then; young and so so naïve. I didn’t want to believe that they had tricked me. I didn’t stop to think; to question; to prepare. I just walked forwards, a willing accomplice to my doom.

It took a moment for my eyes to adjust to the gloom, to the empty darkness. Standing in that room I almost forgot about the existence of light. I blinked, then opened my eyes quickly, like I was ripping off a plaster. However, what I saw caused them to slam shut again. With them closed I was cut off from the world, from my fear, my complete and utter terror. It was because of this that I didn’t see the door shut with a loud bang until it was too late.

I didn’t turn around at the noise. I’d seen horror movies, I knew what it meant. I was trapped. But trapped where? And right at that moment, with so many things to scare me, that was the most terrifying thing of all. I didn’t know where I was. No one did.

You are probably wondering why I went to that rickety old building, aren’t you? I had an invitation. I was invited. As the new girl I was ecstatic about being chosen to go to a party; especially during my first week of school. I didn’t think that it was a prank. Why would I? I was young and naïve.

I knew I was trapped; I thought I knew I was alone; I knew that in front of me on the walls was blood; I knew that just standing there wasn’t helping – I knew all of tht. But it was as if I was frozen in time. The only movement in the room was the silent fall of tears running down my face.

It took me a while to pull myself together and even longer to open my  eyes. I didn’t know how much time had passed. Minutes; hours; days. Time meant nothing. The present was all there was.

Finally looking around me I searched for doors, windows, any type of exit. I tried not to look at the blood, but my eyes were drawn to it. The more I looked the more I could see. It looked like there was writing of some kind on the wall – in blood. I moved closer and froze ins shock upon deciphering the scribbled words: ‘Hello Amelia’.

I think I must of fainted, for when I next opened my eyes I was in a different room, on the floor, my hands tied behind my back. It took me only seconds to realise that I was still alone. At this point it dawned on me; it wasn’t an accident. Someone had set me up, but with what intent? To die?

With some difficulty and many uncomfortable twists and turns I managed to manoeuvre myself into a sitting position. It was then that I saw the writing on the wall in blood, again. I managed to crack a joke to myself inside me head ‘where did he get all that blood?’ but then I remembered my circumstances and it didn’t seem all that funny anymore.

The blood ordered me to open the door, ‘open the door little girl’ to be precise, and I thought ‘what the hell, things couldn’t get much worse could they?’ So I stood up, somehow managed to open the door, stepped into another room, and screamed! The first scream I had let out since I had let out since entering the building. Because it was at that moment, as I stood in that room, I saw that that I wasn’t alone. I heard sinister laughter behind me before my world went black.

I can see now that they didn’t mean for me to get hurt. The people at school I mean; the people who invited me. They only wanted to scare me. I don’t blame them, how could I? My own stupidity played the most major part in it all. That blood I saw smeared on the walls in the first room; it was merely red paint, meant to frighten me. And I will readily agree that they succeeded. I was terrified. But you see the one thing they didn’t foresee, could never have predicted, was that I wouldn’t be the only one to turn up that night; that I wouldn’t be alone in that rickety old building. That was the only flaw to their plan, their only mistake. A mistake which cost me my life.

Leave a Reply

