To me ‘descend’ sounds kind of negative; the first phrase that comes to mind is ‘descending into hell’ and besides what that says about me as a person I think the word does have pretty negative connotations.

But then I mused on it for a while and I thought, does descending really have to be bad?

Don’t explorers descend into caves to see what wonders they might hold?

Don’t divers descend into the depths of the ocean to explore the beauty that lies there?

Don’t skydivers jump so that they can descend back to this Earth we call home?

Descending is moving down but its still moving forwards, not moving back.

So isn’t descending just another part of life? A sometimes scary, unknown part, but not a negative one. I chose to see descent as about hope and what the future might bring. About possibilities and moving forwards, even if it means doing something or going through something you might not wish to do.

Descending is steeped in uncertainty and the just plain unknown, but to me that risk makes it all the more worthwhile.

I chose to descend into life and let it take me where it will. I hope you will too.

via Daily Prompt: Descend

Leave a Reply

