Last night I went to the Millennium Centre in Cardiff Bay and saw a spectacular performance of RENT. I’d never seen the musical before and was completely blown away. But that’s going off track. This post is about the fact that I went to see this show all on my own. 

I’ve been to a few shows stag before and I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve been to the cinema by myself. To a lot of people this seems odd or sad, like I must be lonely and have no friends but that is really not the case.

If there’s a film you want to see or a play you want to watch but no one you know wants to see it or can’t make the time, why should you miss out? Well the answer is, you shouldn’t!

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not for everyone and for every excursion and you will feel a bit self-conscious and conspicuous, but you know what, who cares what anyone else thinks! I saw a fab performance of RENT and had a cracking night out – if I’d caved to what society expects I would have sat at home watching Netflix (not that there is anything wrong with that!) but I didn’t and I for one am glad.

I even went to Prezzo the other night on my own for a spot of dinner before I headed off to watch the premiere of Logan (you guessed it; on my own!).

So, I guess what I’m saying is don’t miss out things because no one else wants to go! The cinema, comic con, theatre and restaurants are all just as great when enjoyed in solitude; and if you feel like you’re receiving judgy looks or thoughts, say screw ‘em (inside your head I’d recommend unless you want to start a fight) and just live your life the way you want to. Life is too short to cave to everyone else’s expectations. Be you and be proud. And above all have a cracking good time!

Leave a Reply

