You are not alone.

Always keep fighting.

The flower that blooms in adversity is the most rare and beautiful of them all.

Beauty is found within.

Those are the quotes that inspired my two tattoos. I’ve been thinking a lot about them recently; especially the idea that I am not alone.

Help can come from the most unexpected of places and in the least likely ways, you just have to be open to it.

Last week I emailed my Mandarin teacher about dropping the course and she replied that she’d like to have a chat with me about it. The next day we sat down with coffees in hand and I just broke down and started crying. I told her about how I wasn’t coping and that I felt lonely and isolated. And the most amazing thing happened.

She listened.

That may seem like outrageous hyperbole but it really isn’t. She was there to listen to me when I needed it. A woman I didn’t and still don’t know very well, who I only see two times a week, who has no obligations towards me other than to teach me Mandarin, listened.

I am not alone.

You are not alone.

Be open to help, advice or even just a listening ear and you might be suprised at who is willing to help you for no other reason than to be kind.

Don’t be ashamed that you aren’t coping. I’m not coping. I’ve booked into see someone at student support at my university. I’m willing to accept help beacuse I’m not ashamed about how I feel. I hate how I feel, but I’m not ashamed.

I know that I am not alone and that I will always keep fighting.

I hope that you will do the same.

Leave a Reply

