So yeah, apologies for being so blunt! This is just an issue, well not an issue per say, but a topic, that I wanted to discuss. So here goes.

Yes, I am an 18 year old virgin and to some that will seem like no big deal and to others will be a shock. What might shock more of you is that I am a virgin in every sense of the word. I’ve never been asked out on a date, or been on one; I’ve never held hands with someone of the opposite sex, who wasn’t a relative; I’ve never been kissed – I came close once in a scene in a college play but no cigar – by anyone I’ve liked (or disliked), not even on the cheek; I’ve never danced with someone I’ve fancied and, as you have probably guessed by now, I have never had sex.

I could go on a rant about modern society is pressuring its young people into having sex by bombarding them with images in the media, etc. etc. but I’m not. What I am going to say is that I have been influenced by this. I watch TV programmes where the characters date and have sex and wonder if that will ever be me. But its more than that. I watch these programmes and movies and see people not only having sex but being in love; and I want that too. Almost everything I watch or read has love in it and it makes you want it, makes you want to be as happy as the characters are. And its not just the characters either, but the celebrity couples or even just everyday couples you see that look happy and in love. I left out one vital aspect of my virginity; I’ve never been in love.

At this point you could go onto a depressing tangent about how love isn’t all its cracked up to be, but that’s not the point. My whole life love has been presented as a vital part of living. And yes, I have experienced love, I love my friends and my family, but I’ve never been in love, and that is something completely different.

I do often feel like there’s something wrong with me, some reason why  I haven’t experienced so many things surrounding sex and love, and I know that’s stupid but it doesn’t stop me from thinking it. I’ve cried a couple of times over wondering if I will ever experience what it seems like everyone else is experiencing. But then I shake myself and tell myself that I’m not the only one feeling this way, and that there is no normal when it comes to this. If I don’t get kissed until my late 20’s like Drew Barrymore in the film ‘Never Been Kissed’ it doesn’t matter! If I don’t have sex at all in my entire life, it doesn’t matter! If I never fall in love, it doesn’t matter! I can live a great and fulfilling life without having any of those things! That doesn’t mean I don’t want them, because I do; I just don’t cry myself to sleep in despair over never having them. There is more to life then sex and love! Says the virgin, I know! I just don’t think people like me should be made to feel different or lacking somehow because we haven’t experienced these things. Our lives our just as amazing as everyone else’s!

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

